keen whale

I’m not sure if I actually invented this salad, but it’s a fantastic way to enjoy kale and quinoa- two things that you should integrate into your diet if you haven’t already! Nutrients galore. I can’t decide if the kale or the quinoa should take the title, so we’ll combine and call it…

Quinoale (pronounced “keen-whale”) Summer Salad

  • Two or three leaves of kale, slightly steamed
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed and cooked
  • One medium apple, sliced and chopped
  • Cranberries
  • Feta
  • Lemon juice
  • Sea salt

I’ve definitely made and enjoyed this with raw kale, but a little steam will soften it up and still leave some crunch.  This was way overdone-  I ended up with pretty much fully cooked kale (which is also fine!).

Remember you can always cook your quinoa with vegetable broth or water+bouillon for some extra flavor.  Watch this adorable video if you need quinoa cooking instructions.

I used my apple corer/slicer (top 5 favorite kitchen tools for sure), then chopped each slice into smaller pieces.

Cranberries and feta to your liking…

Toss with a little lemon and sea salt, chill, and then lunch! Or dinner.  You can easily fatten this up if you feel like it’s lacking flavor with some olive oil or a salad dressing that you feel fits.

I also wanted to share a photo of my first real successful batch of almond butter.  I’d never really gotten the texture down in my previous attempts.  Peanuts butterize like nobody’s business- maybe they have more natural oil? Not sure, but my almond butters thus far have been pretty dry and chalky.  I added a bit of safflower oil to keep this batch moving, and I think that’s the trick.  As long as your food processor can take it, you just have to keep the nuts spinning until they turn smooth and liquidy.  The added oil isn’t what makes it smooth, but just keeps everything lubricated so that the nuts have a chance to get ground down to this state:

This batch also had some coconut and a touch of agave.  It’s delightful.

I’m going to have a great week full of delicious, clean food.  Join me?

2 thoughts on “keen whale

  1. I just drank a TCBY Carmel Iced Coffee and now I’m having eater’s remorse. Thanks a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

