sunny sunday

The day in Santa Monica wasn’t actually very sunny at all, but I did my best to inject some sunshiney energy into it with my meals and activities.  I woke up early and rode my bike to a yoga class (helmet and all, yoga mat tugged under the spring-loaded clamp on my basket attachment!).  I can’t stress enough how much starting your day with exercise sets everything in the right direction and nearly ensures a fantastic rest of the day.  The value of consistent exercise in general really can’t be overestimated.  I had fallen off the work-out wagon over the last few weeks and was beginning to think I was slipping into a deep and terrible (and hyperbolic) depression.  But then I got my butt in gear and quickly pulled myself back into happiness.  Trust me on this one.  It’s common sense for a reason- it works.

After my sweaty morning, I brunched on this, inspired by the beautiful yellows and oranges in my CSA box and something I had eaten at Le Grande Orange (now M Street Cafe) on Main Street in Santa Monica.

Sunshine Hash

  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 golden beet
  • 1 medium carrot
  • Olive oil
  • Basil and cilantro, minced
  • Eggs

Chop the veggies into 1 inch or smaller pieces.  Toss with olive oil and herbs and roast at 350 for about 20 minutes or until tender.  Top with a sunny-side up egg!

I shared this with my friend Jeff who paid me a spontaneous visit, only adding to the sunshine.

The real cherry on top of the day, though, was the walk to Allan’s Aquarium with Liz to buy these fellas (or ladies, I forgot to ask how to tell for sure):

They need names, which I will take my time in selecting.  I’m pumped to have a pet, something to take care of other than myself and a bright little burst of color to look at every day!

Let the name suggestions begin…

3 thoughts on “sunny sunday

  1. Spud.
    Veronica.
    Caroline. (Kidding.)
    Albert.
    Zoe.

    Just to start you off. You and your divine family make the world more sunshiney (if that were a word). 🙂

Leave a Reply

