getting sick: check!

You’re not supposed to get sick on vacation, right? There has to be a rule about that somewhere. I think it also applies to birthdays, anniversaries, your own wedding, but most importantly, vacation. Granted, this is a real long vacation of which I’m in the midst. And I probably shouldn’t be complaining anyway, because what better do I have to do besides lay in bed, blowing my nose and reading The Hunger Games? Well, guys, I hate to break it to you, but I’ve got a pretty long list of things to do this summer, and getting sick was not one of them. In fact, I have several lists. So you can imagine my dismay when I woke up with a fever and stuffy nose and found myself out of commission, unable to check off any list items that would free up my already free time. Naturally, I went first for the Neti-Pot. It helped a little, as did the zinc supplements and gallons of water and OJ that I downed throughout the day. But I knew that at some point, I was going to have to lean on the old, tried-and-true, comforting home remedy for colds: Soup.

Sinus-Clearing Black Bean Soup

  • 1 can black beans (or soaked equivalent)
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • Seasonings to taste
  • Avocado slices
  • Cilantro for garnish

Blend the beans with some of the broth in food processor or blender. Combine that with the rest of the broth and salsa in a pot and heat on medium. I added some garlic powder and a pinch of salt. Top with avocado and cilantro garnish, eat, sweat, and enjoy!


My version was preeetty spicy, but that of course depends on the kind and quantity of salsa you use. I think it made my nose run more than it actually cleared anything up, and the sweating just reminded me of the fever I was trying to kick, but it was delicious and gave me something to blog about which IS, I’ll remind you, on my to-do list. Check.

2 thoughts on “getting sick: check!

Leave a Reply

